Summer Festivals

Narashino Dancing

Narashino Dancing

Lately has been kind of crazy for me, but over the weekend I was able to attend some festivals. Unfortunately, I showed up right as one was ending and I had to leave the other after only glancing around for a minute, but they were still fun to see!

My city’s festival was the one I was most looking forward to. I thought it would be interesting to see the sort of things my city would do during summer. I assumed my city was fairly small, so I thought the festival would be extremely small. Not so!

To start things off, they held a huge parade down the street. Many different clubs and organizations participated and walked through with their banners. You can view some of it here.

After the initial parade, there was another parade of dancers. I could stand at the top of the hill and see a line of dances down the road for as far as I could see.

In a large, open area the usual festival booths were set up. There were games to catch goldfish, a ring toss, prizes (I saw a lot of kids carrying newly won inflatable baseball bats and an inflatable Stitch from the Disney movie), and a lot of similar things to do. They sold a lot of typical festival foods as well. I’m disappointed that I wasn’t able to take more pictures.

Starting today, I’m taking a few days off work to pull myself back together and get everything about my life reorganized. My four day absence from sorting through my e-mail account seems to have already cost me the internship I was really excited about. I suppose I just need to accept what’s happened so far and try to keep going.

 

About Jessica

Jessica is an avid writer and artist who dabbles in novel writing and chases pixie dreams on social media. Currently employed as an assistant language teacher in Japan, she mainly blogs about daily life and helpful tips for future residents in the land of the rising sun.

Posted on August 27, 2013, in Japan and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. You seem to be doing better and thats a good thing..Taking a few days off from work always helps anyone get back on track and set things straight. I hope this helps you even more and that you feel a lot better. That festival sounds like a lot of fun. I wish my city had something like that.. I end up having to drive hours just to experience that 😦 . Glad you had a good time..

Thoughts?

